Close this search box.
Close this search box.
Handcuffs around a mans arms

Sex Offender Tier Relief

A new California law (SB384) has divided sex offenses into three tiers. Depending on the offense, a person convicted of a sex offense may be able to be relieved from their duty to register as a sex offender.

  • Tier 1: A tier 1 offense requires 10 years of registration. Tier 1 offenses are the lowest level sex offenses. These are generally misdemeanor offenses.
  • Tier 2: A Tier 2 offense requires 20 years of registration. Tier 2 offenses are the middle level offenses. These are generally non-strike felonies, and some misdemeanors.
  • Tier 3: A tier 3 offense still requires lifetime registration. Tier 3 offenses are the highest-level offenses. These are usually felonies that are also strikes, such as violent sex offenses.

If you have suffered a conviction for a sex offense and have been registering for more than 10 years, you may be eligible for relief from registration. Please contact a qualified attorney to evaluate whether you qualify for relief.

Share this Story

Do you find this topic fascinating? It’s likely that your friends share the same interest! Consider sharing this story on your social media to help others in their search for reliable information.

Contact Chastaine | Jones Today

Proven criminal defense team ready to fight for you!

Get to know our experienced criminal defense attorneys, Martin Jones, Mike Chastaine, Jessica Davis, and James Ryan. Do you need legal advice?
Contact our Roseville criminal defense law firm today!