Close this search box.
Close this search box.

What Are the Penalties for Domestic Violence Charges in CA?

Fighting Domestic Violence Charges in Gold River, CA

Were you arrested for domestic violence charges in California? Domestic violence is a serious offense that can result in the loss of your rights and may result in jail time. In order to get the best possible outcome in your case, you need to speak with a criminal defense attorney. 

At Chastaine | Jones, our lawyers will walk you through the legal process and help you understand what defenses arise in your case. We have over 50 years of combined legal experience to help you get the most favorable disposition in your case. Were you arrested for domestic violence? Contact our office today to schedule a case evaluation. 

What Are Domestic Violence Charges in California?

Domestic violence charges are codified under California Penal Code section 273.5 (a). The section states that it is unlawful for a person to wilfully inflict harm on a spouse, former spouse, co-parent, or other person that you have a relationship with. 

It can be challenging to know what to do after an arrest for domestic violence. An attorney can guide you through the process and help you determine if you have a strong case. There may be defenses such as self-defense that arise in your case. 

What Are the Penalties for DV Charges?

If you are found guilty of intentionally inflicting harm on a family member or loved one, you could be convicted of a felony. The statute also calls for state imprisonment of two, three, or four years depending on the circumstances of the case. In some cases, you may be able to do county jail.

Penalties for domestic violence charges in California:

  • Jail time
  • A state prison sentence
  • A fine of up to $6,000
  • Anger management classes
  • probation

A lawyer will work with you to determine if you are eligible for a reduction or dismissal of the charges. In every case, the lawyer will work hard to get you the least amount of time with the least amount of requirements.

Understanding Domestic Violence Charges

Domestic violence charges can be complicated. They can be challenging to prove on your own. A criminal defense lawyer will make it easier to understand and provide clarity on how to move forward with your case. 

Domestic violence charges may be filed if the alleged victim was the defendant’s:

  • Current or former spouse
  • Current or former fiance
  • Current or former cohabitant, such as a roommate
  • Co-parent

If you have been arrested for domestic violence, you need to act fast. You could end up pleading to all of the charges. 

Arrested for Domestic Violence in California? Contact Our Office. 

Were you arrested for domestic violence in Gold River, California? Contact our office to schedule a case evaluation. Our lawyers understand that this may be a difficult time for you and your family. Let us help you get a favorable outcome in your case. We are ready to fight for you. Do not accept a plea deal without first speaking with an attorney. Get the help you need now.

Share this Story

Do you find this topic fascinating? It’s likely that your friends share the same interest! Consider sharing this story on your social media to help others in their search for reliable information.

Contact Chastaine | Jones Today

Proven criminal defense team ready to fight for you!

Get to know our experienced criminal defense attorneys, Martin Jones, Mike Chastaine, Jessica Davis, and James Ryan. Do you need legal advice?
Contact our Roseville criminal defense law firm today!